Discussion: View Thread

MOC Distinguished Scholar Nominations Requested - Consider nominating yourself or a deserving colleague

  • 1.  MOC Distinguished Scholar Nominations Requested - Consider nominating yourself or a deserving colleague

    Posted 15 days ago

    Hi MOC!

    Happy New Year. I hope your start of the new term and the new year are going smoothly, and that you are getting your submissions to AOM 2022 finalized.

    I am emailing with a call for nominations for the 2022 MOC Distinguished Scholar. Each year MOC formally selects and recognizes a wonderful contributor to both scholarship and to the MOC Division. Please consider nominating yourself or a colleague as this year's Distinguished Scholar. Below are the criteria the MOC Exec Team considers in selecting the recipient.


    Key selection criteria:

    1. Significant influence in the field of individual, relational, and collective cognition
    2. Published high-impact articles in the best journals
    3. Notable Contribution to the field, through:
    4. Leadership position with MOC, and/or
    5. Leadership position with Academy, and/or
    6. Action/Associate Editor, and/or
    7. Exceptional Mentorship

    Other selection criteria:

    1. Contributions to MOC (e.g., in one or more of our "In the Rough" PDWs)


    Please email Pauline Schilpzand (Pauline.schilpzand@oregonstate.edu) with your nomination(s) by February 1st. Please provide some detail on the criteria listed above to help the MOC Exec Team make their decision. Thank you for nominating deserving scholars and friends of MOC!


    These are the MOC Distinguished Scholar Award Winners of the past years:


    • 2021 – Janet Dukerich
    • 2020 - James P. Walsh
    • 2019 - Neal Ashkanasy
    • 2018 - Blake Ashforth
    • 2017 - Mary Ann Glynn
    • 2016 - Michael G. Pratt
    • 2015 - Kathleen Sutcliffe
    • 2014 - Sim Sitkin
    • 2013 - Frances Milliken
    • 2012 - Jane Dutton
    • 2011 - Joe Porac
    • 2010 - Denny Gioia
    • 2009 - Marlena Fiol
    • 2008 – James G. March
    • 2007 – Denise Rousseau
    • 2005 – George Huber
    • 2004 – William Starbuck
    • 2003 – Anne Huff
    • 2002 – Karl Weick


    Thank you for your nominations. I hope you will join me in-person or virtually to recognize the 2022 MOC Distinguished Scholar in the MOC Plenary Session during the AOM 2022 Conference.





    Pauline Schilpzand, Ph.D.

    Associate Editor – Journal of Management

    Division Chair - MOC Division of the Academy of Management

    Associate Professor of Management

    College of Business  | Oregon State University






    Pauline Schilpzand
    Oregon State University
    Corvallis OR
    (541) 745-4683